Strapi vs Directus
Facts about Strapi and Directus, side by side. Each line comes from the tool's own pages, repository or npm, with its source and the day it was checked.
Written by the Nextly team. Nextly is not in this comparison; it has a section of its own at the end.
01 · Side by side
Strapi and Directus, fact by fact
Each line comes from Strapi's or Directus's own pages, repository or npm. Where we have not checked something, we say so and link to their docs.
| Topic | Strapi | Directus |
|---|---|---|
| Licence | Strapi“MIT Expat” outside the ee/ directories, if you have no Strapi Cloud account. Code in ee/ is licensed separately.Source [1] | DirectusMonospace Sustainable Core License 1.0 (MSCL-1.0-GPL)Source [8] |
| Written in | StrapiTypeScriptSource [1] | DirectusTypeScriptSource [8] |
| Databases | StrapiSQLite, MySQL, MariaDB and PostgreSQLSource [2] | DirectusThe LTS versions of PostgreSQL, MySQL, SQLite, MS SQL Server, MariaDB, CockroachDB and OracleDBSource [10] |
| APIs | StrapiREST, and GraphQL through a plugin (@strapi/plugin-graphql), are documentedSource [3] Source [4] | DirectusREST, GraphQL and a JavaScript SDK are documentedSource [11] |
| Managed hosting | StrapiStrapi Cloud lists Starter, Pro and Business plans, each priced per project per monthSource [5] | DirectusDirectus Cloud, or self-hosting with DockerSource [12] |
| Self-hosted plans | StrapiA free Community plan, and paid Growth and Enterprise plansSource [6] | DirectusNot stated here. directus.com/docs (opens in a new tab) |
| Open Innovation Grant | StrapiNot stated here. docs.strapi.io (opens in a new tab) | Directus“Organizations under $5M in annual revenue and 50 employees can use Directus for free under the Open Innovation Grant.” (opens in a new tab)Source [9] |
| Existing databases | StrapiNot stated here. docs.strapi.io (opens in a new tab) | DirectusREST endpoints and a GraphQL schema are generated from the connected database (“database mirroring”)Source [11] |
| Current release | Strapi5.59.0 on npm latestSource [7] | Directus12.5.1 on npm latestSource [13] |
02 · Sources
Where each line comes from
Strapi
- [1]github.com/strapi/strapi (licence, language) (opens in a new tab)
- [2]docs.strapi.io/cms/configurations/database (opens in a new tab)
- [3]docs.strapi.io/cms/api/rest (opens in a new tab)
- [4]docs.strapi.io/cms/plugins/graphql (opens in a new tab)
- [5]strapi.io/pricing-cloud (opens in a new tab)
- [6]strapi.io/pricing-cms (opens in a new tab)
- [7]npmjs.com/package/@strapi/strapi (dist-tags) (opens in a new tab)
Directus
- [8]github.com/directus/directus (licence, language) (opens in a new tab)
- [9]github.com/directus/directus (README) (opens in a new tab)
- [10]directus.com/docs/self-hosting/requirements (opens in a new tab)
- [11]directus.com/docs/api (opens in a new tab)
- [12]directus.com/docs/getting-started/overview (opens in a new tab)
- [13]npmjs.com/package/directus (dist-tags) (opens in a new tab)
03 · Method
How this page is written
- Facts
- Facts from their own pages or repository, each with its source and the day we checked.
- No scores
- No ticks, crosses or verdicts about other products.
- Gaps
- Where we have not checked something, we say so and link to their docs.
04 · A third option
Nextly
We make Nextly. It is not part of the comparison above.
Separate from the comparison
- What it is
- Nextly is an open-source content platform for Next.js.
- Stack
- TypeScript · Self-hosted · MIT · PostgreSQL, MySQL, SQLite · 0.0.2-alpha.71
- Hosting
- Self-hosted. MIT today, and no decision yet about paid offerings.
- Status
- Nextly is in alpha. APIs may change before 1.0. Pin exact versions in production.